Double Duty Beauty

  1. Cream Blush: Cream blushers, like this fabulous one from Illamasqua called “Libodo”, can be used not only for a flush of color on the cheek, but for a pop of vibrant color on the eyelid, or gently patted on the lips for a sexy pout.
  2. Concealer/Corrector: In addition to masking blemishes and dark circles, concealer palettes like this one from Sonia Kashuk can also be used across the eyelid and lips as a clean canvas primer for eyeshadow and lip color.
  3. Eight Hour Cream: For the longest time I had such a problem recommending Elizabeth Arden’s Eight Hour Cream as a holy grail product. I agreed with other beauty guru’s that it was/IS a must-have, but I just couldn’t get past the rank smell. Enter the recently launched Fragrance Free Eight Hour Cream — a versatile skin protectant that serves a plethora of duties. Use it to heal dry, cracked skin, to soften cuticles, or even as an overnight eye cream. I love popping it on my lips, to the high points for the cheek for a dewy highlight, and mixing it with my eyeshadows for an interesting glossy night time look.
  4. Brown Mascara: I rarely use my brown mascara. It just doesn’t give the pop of lashes that I hunger for. Other than using it on my lower lashes, I’ve recently LOVED using it on my brows. Cleaning off any excess product from the wand with a tissue use short, precise strokes to groom brows into place while adding a hint of color.
  5. Taupe Shadows: I’m a sucker for taupe eye shadow — I have more taupe than I know what to do with…until now.  After recently shattering my NARS Laguna bronzer (RIP), I’ve been on a mission to experiment with colors in my graveyard of shadows to use as a contour. The end result:  NYX True Taupe rocks my socks. I use it to contour my cheekbones, jaw line, nose, and under my bottom lip. Be mindful of the taupe shade you’re using, the color can fall a bit grey on certain skin tones, so do some trial and error runs!


Get creative!

MsLauralai

Leave a Reply

