Tone Your Face, Not Just Your Muffin Top

I’m talking beauty, not fitness. Let’ be honest, the constant back and forth banter among those in the skin-care industry regarding the importance of facial toner gets a little frustrating. Is it necessary to tone, how often should you do it, and what are the benefits – if any?

Regardless of its importance, I just so happen to love the fresh pick-me-up that toning provides prior to moisturizing my skin. In general, people use toners for additional hydration after makeup removal, to even out redness and uneven skin tones, and even fight acne and aging.

Toners should be applied both morning and night to a freshly cleansed face, after spot treating blemishes, and immediately before moisturizing. In my quest to reap the benefits of toning, I started off using Dermologica’s Multi-Active toner. I loved the product, hated the price tag. So I did some research, chatted with some friends in the industry, and went on a DIY mission to create my own.

After many trials and tribulations, here’s the concoction that I liked the most for my sensitive skin.

What you’ll need and why:

  1. 1/3 cup apple cider vinegar to balance the skin’s PH
  2. 2/3 cup witch hazel to serve as a mild astringent
  3. A few drops of an essential oil of your choice (I chose lavender as it’s known to soothe sensitive skin)
  4. 3 plain Aspirin tablets (uncoated and crushed to a fine powder using a mortar & pestle) to assist with the reduction of redness and puffiness
  5. A dispenser bottle (I prefer those with a spray applicator)

Completely dissolve the Aspirin powder by stirring it into the witch hazel. Mix all the ingredients together and add them to the clean bottle. Shake well before using, spritz onto a cotton ball or pad until it’s saturated with the toner, and swab over the face after cleansing. Store in the refrigerator for a shelf life of about a month.

So what are your thoughts on toner? Is it a must have or just another hook, line and sinker product for consumers? If you’re new to toning, give this recipe shot and let me know how your skin feels.

Remember: the easiest (and cheapest) way to make your skin feel great is to drink lots of water!

Lauralai


Leave a Reply

