WWMD – What Would Mikala Do?

Sweatshirts

1. Top Shop Cleopatra Sweatshirt 2. Clockers Rise & Grind Sweatshirt 3. J. Crew Blythe Blouse in Silk 4. J Brand Light Skinny Jeans 5. Rag & Bone Mila Short 6. Converse Chuck Taylor 7. Ash Suede & Canvas Wedge Sneaker  8. Reed Krakoff Boxer 9. House of Harlow Sunburst Pendant Necklace 10. Ariel Gordon Initial Necklace 11. Top Shop Leather Backpack 12. Zara Thin Strap Sandals 13. Warehouse Maxi Wrap Skirt 14. Jane Norman Milano Mini Skirt

What is the one thing that we love to wear but often isn’t as stylish as we need it to be? That would be the grand ol’ sweatshirt. Since I’m a fan of sweatshirts for casual days, I figured this week should be all about them.  A lot of sweatshirts can have cool sayings or graphics on them, like the two I chose to display this week. Although the Top Shop Cleopatra sweatshirt is sold out, you can still grab this Rise and Grind sweatshirt, if the website decides to start working again.

So rather than do a day and night look for sweatshirts, I decided to separate the looks by each sweatshirt. First up to bat we have the Rise & Grind sweatshirt that I paired with the purple J. Crew Blythe blouse (I really like this blouse, can’t you tell?). With the wedged sneaker by Ash or the all-white Converse, it gives you two options to help finish off this look with either a pair of denim jeans or shorts. This look, no matter which you way take it, gives me a combination of ways to make a sweatshirt that can be a little frumpy to more tailored and refined.

This next sweatshirt is one of my favorites because A. it’s Elizabeth Taylor B. Cleopatra (I love anything Egyptian related). I took my idea from Rihanna, whose style is amazing and I personally would like to own 90% of the things that she has. Taking the idea to be a little girlier with a sweatshirt you can pair it with a long maxi skirt like Rihanna did with this sweatshirt or take up a notch and go for a form-fitting mini skirt with these Zara sandals to keep it comfy up top but a little sultry on the bottom. I think the sweatshirt and maxi shirt combo would be perfect for a Sunday brunch with friends.

I kept it really simple for accessories just because I wanted the focus to remain on the sweatshirts so I just combined two gold necklaces for layering. You can pair either look with the Top Shop backpack or this great investment piece by Reed Krakoff. All the options I gave you in this polyvore set can be intermixed with one another and useful for other ideas too! Whenever you buy something you should always have a few options for what you would pair the item with plus it can help justify those expensive purchases.

Until next time, don’t forget to think WWMD? Have a an item that needs some helpful pairing tips? Feel free to tweet meand I may just write about it.

@savadavis 

Leave a Reply

