Beauty Secret: Coconut Oil

With the change of seasons comes exciting style changes, whether it’s your love of layering, or ditching your coat come spring. However, for me, one unwelcome change from summer to fall/winter is my dry scalp. My stylist let me in on a little secret, using coconut oil, which helped alleviate my dry and itchy scalp. I purchased Spectrum Organic Coconut Oil for $10 at my grocery store and tried it that night.

Heat the oil (it’s solid in the jar) by placing the jar in a bowl of hot water and let it sit until pliable. Apply (not too much!) to your scalp. Let it sit for at least an hour, or overnight. Wash out with shampoo and style as normal.

Coconut Oil Hair Treatment

Spectrum Organic Coconut Oil

I’ve used it as a treatment 1-2 times a week and haven’t seen the dry scalp return! Other tips that are helpful have been to not wash my hair as often, as well as not using super hot water when I do wash it. Avoid hairspray on the scalp as it contains alcohol.

Coconut oil can also be applied directly to your hair as a conditioner. The fatty acids work great. Just work it in, concentrating on the ends. The smell isn’t too sun-tan like, so you can even wrap it up for a few hours and let down for beachy waves.

What are your beauty secrets?

Erin

PS-This post has been submitted to IFB Project: What’s Your Winter Beauty Secret?

Leave a Reply

